m15o

Zines

I'm always amazed at the content I find when browsing the small net. While drinking coffee this morning I found smolZINE issue 2, and I'm really happy to see such a project. I haven't read an actual magazine in ages, and somehow I'm not sure why. I know there are great magazines out there but they might be harder to find, and my memories of the ones available at every kiosk vaguely resemble browsing the web. At least in my head. But when I see zines, it just makes me happy. I love the collaboration and passion of those who write them, and above all the motivations. I also think the plain text format adopted by the small net is a perfect medium for such magazines. It makes them simple to distribute and for people the consume, even if they don't have direct access to an internet connection.

Does the software we choose reshape our thinking, and lead us to a difference sense of life or a divergent philosophy?

I like your analysis a lot! If I take the magazine vs zine idea of above, maybe the fact that I read one on the small net makes it better in my mind. Well, that would of course be very reductionary of the content and passion put forward by the authors, but I can't help but think that if I read something that's published with technologies I enjoy, my appreciation of it would be higher. I also realize that the platform one choses to publish on is also a statement in itself, and I guess so are the tools we use. Ahh, tools are what brings people together and appart!

EOF

Written with Smol Pub
From Dusk's End, Nightfall City

m15o@posteo.net