m15o

Nightfall City

I'd love to tell you about my latest project, Nightfall City. But to do that, I'd probably need to first tell you about the Midnight. The Midnight is a virtual pub / internet message board I started working on a little more than a year ago. It's located in a small alley off Main Street. Main Street figuratively represents the busy/bustling web that's around quieter places. I enjoy storytelling when it brings an atmosphere, and I think it contributes a lot to Midnight. So a few months later I introduced Nightfall City, the vibrant capital that houses Main Street (and the Midnight). In its first iteration Nightfall was a pubnix (server) running in my living room and allowed people to connect with ssh to create their site. I learned a lot about linux doing it. Yet ultimately it wasn't exactly what I had in mind. The barrier to entry was a little too high for many writers that would just like to focus on writing.

I'm sure a lot of you remember geocities. That's what I want to do with the newer version of Nightfall. However instead of building your site, you can just add your existing feed to any of its district. Nightfall aggregates every citizen of a district in a single feed, with the intent of connecting, engaging through quotes in blog posts, and discovering. Nightfall understands both Web and Gemini. I might add Gopher a little later. The ultimate goal is to build a little hub in the small net. I feel like we're approaching the end of the social media era, and while we still have a long way to go, it's fun to explore together what a healthier, simpler way of engaging with one another can be. It's incredible what can be done with static hosting and feeds!

Needless to say I'm really excited about this, and I'm hoping you are as well! The city is very empty right now, but if you'd like to take part send me an email at m15o+nightfall@posteo.net and I'll gladly add you to one of the district (tell me which one!).

Nightfall City
Midnight Pub

EOF

Written with Smol Pub
From Dusk's End, Nightfall City

m15o@posteo.net